Review on UCD Data and Computational Science Master Program

Eveline Surbakti
4 min readDec 6, 2020

--

One year program, 90 credits, Master of Science, Dublin, Ireland.

The review is based on my personal experience, I was doing the full-time program as a returning student with no coding background. I wrote the article to help future and prospective students with their doubts.

In November 2018, I was attending one of EHEF Indonesia events and met a representative of University College Dublin. They gave me a flyer.

UCD Flyer back in 2018

I had the interest to study in German, Australia and Ireland back then.

Then, In December 2018, I got an offer letter from UCD.

Long story short, I decided to take the program and left Indonesia.

Did you have any other options?

When I scrolled over the program catalogue for a master’s degree, they had two master programs: MSc in Data Analytics (fully online) and MSc in Data & Computational Science. There was no scholarship for the online course.

How many credits in total?

90 credits. Where the 60 credits covered first two trimesters and for the third (summer) trimester there were two streams:

• A taught stream consisting of 6 modules worth 5 credits each. This is ideal for students interested in securing a job after completing the MSc.

• A research stream, consisting of a research project with thesis. This is best suited for students interested in pursuing further studies (i.e. a PhD). There is limited capacity in this stream.

I took the taught stream, and I finished the trimester earlier than the research stream students.

What did you learn?

Core modules

Autumn (Scientific Programming (ICHEC), Mathematica for Research, Applied Matrix Theory, Predictive Analytics I, Data Programming with R)

Spring (High-Performance Comp. (ICHEC), Transferable Skills, Statistical Machine Learning, Multivariate Analysis, Bayesian Analysis)

Summer (Projects Math Modelling, Uncertainty Quantification, Stochastic Models, Adv Data Prog with R, Data Prog with SAS, Stat Network Analysis.)

Summer trimester is an online trimester since we had a lockdown in Ireland in March 2020.

Option modules

Autumn (Time Series Analysis — Act App)

Spring (Machine Learning & AI (online))

Was it hard?

If you love math, stats and programming, this program is for you.

For me it depends, I am from Asia, and I think Europe has their own style of teaching. The Asian way of teaching is more about how to get the exact data and calculate it. However, while I was studying in Ireland, they do really care about the proof and where the ‘how’ comes from. I can say most of the modules are very involved with three components, as I previously mentioned.

Do I need to understand how to code?

Yes, indeed. In the beginning, I learned how to code with C programming language. I have been using R for more than a year and will find a thousand excuses to use it. Python was very friendly and handy. Last but not least, I also used SAS.

What about stats?

It would be best if you mastered basic statistics because the rest of the modules are intermediate to advanced level of statistics. Do not worry since you can take the Probability & Statistics modules to learn about it.

What about the exams?

Before the pandemic

Cold and dark exam week, it was winter, and most of the students are studying for the last minutes before the exam. This is my last exam session in RDS Exam Hall.

RDS Exam Hall, December 2019

You need to find your exam seat and put all of your belongings outside the exam room. You can bring your phone and put its face down in silent mode.

Honestly, I used the Calculator during Predictive Analytics Exam.

I could not imagine that I took the picture last year.

After the Exam Situation

Another exam location near UCD Smurfit campus.

Blackrock Exam Hall

Since the pandemic started

All exams and assignments were online with various structure and durations.

Check here for further info.

--

--